Sota in the Southern Alps

last October I had a ham radio friend of many years Peter Vk3 PF come and visit us for a long weekend .Peter had come to show me the ropes  Activating Summits  quite a bit to it and over that weekend I became quite taken with it all we aimed to climb and activate Mt Kosciusko we drove to Thredbo and then took the main Chairlift to the top of the mountain from there we had a to walk 7 ks to climb the summittwr_sm001above is a picture of Me taken by Peter next to the trig note squid pole at a giddy angle you can see there was still snow on the surrounding Peaks surprisingly there were quite a few tourists climbing up onto the summit  it was quite windy we spent about and hr and then started back towards the top Station of the chairlift we had to be there by 3.30  we didn’tDSC00227 have to hurry we arrived with time to spare and enjoyed the ride back down to the village on the chairlift

all in all it was a good day we were both worn out

About VK2TWR

Hi I was born in 1951 in Cooma i have lived most of my life in the Snowy Mountains area know living at Nimmitabel a small village on the great dividing range South of Cooma . I am the eldest of three brothers my main interests are the outdoors bush walking amateur radio and winter skiing which I plan to combine with Sota activities during the winter. which will make the trips more enjoyable. I have been married to my Wife Judy for just over 30 years and have recently became interested in Summits on the Air or SOTA as its known I have found it most enjoyable getting out and getting regular exercise as well as enjoying the hobby
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

